top of page

A Poem from a Runner's Heart

Feet thumping on the hardened dirt

In rhythm with my heartbeat

one two three step

one two three step

Uphill, feeling like a racehorse

Climbing as fast as possible

remember, small steps

lean into the hill, pump those arms

Downhill, feeling like a bear

Practically falling as my legs almost slip

lengthen those steps, lean back a little

tromp down like a giant

Never have I felt so fast and so slow

As I have when I run

not meeting the time - what did I do?

beating a PR - on top of the world!

Running is a whirlwind of emotions

The only therapy I need

space to think

time to not think at all

Only the ground tapping beneath my shoes

The air pumping through my lungs

breathe-that's all you can do

no time for tears or laughter-just breathe

When my heart is pounding I feel most alive

The quickest way to that is through movement

step by step, faster and faster

heartbeat in sync

As my stride lengthens

My pace sets

flowing effortlessly, my legs are the pendulum

keeping time as I travel

When I put on my shoes,

Tie back my hair,

I change into something I never used to think

that I would call myself

I am a runner

And I feel unstoppable.

A bit different post this time around, I thought I would try out some poetry on this page.

Currently, I am training for my third half marathon, which is scheduled to happen in the middle of July. Running is therefore often on my mind, as I try to fit in time to workout between my busy schedule. Normally, I try to run 5-6 days of the week and cross-train 1-2 of the other days. For cross-training I like biking and swimming, though now that I'm back home in South Dakota the nearest pool is an hour away, which is a challenge. Thus far I haven't been able to swim laps since college got out about a month ago. (Very sad, I know).

I'm really bad at remembering to take days off, but when I do (which I should once a week), I try to cross-train with lighter exercise like strength training or yoga.

If anyone wants to know a more in-depth version of my training schedule, let me know in the comments below, and I will write a full post about work out tips and give an example week. On average, a week is comprised of my 'everyday' runs (which are between 4-6 miles), one longer run of 8-10 miles, a speed workout or hill workout (or both), and then biking or swimming. Also, I try to do 5-10 minutes of core most days after I run, and then a longer 20 min session once or twice a week.

My workout plan has definitely fluctuated over the years, and changes seasonally as well. (Winter is a lot more cross-training/skiing/shorter runs and more swimming.)

Hopefully this poem speaks to a few people out there, or maybe inspires a few to give running a try! Take it from someone who used to hate running, it takes personal motivation and actually wanting to run, plus a month or two of running before it actually becomes fun, but it's worth it. My parents practically forced me into cross country and track in the 8th grade, and did actually force me to stick with it for the next two years. It was only during the summer of my sophomore year of high school that I actually began to like running, and by the time senior year rolled around I was addicted and managed to make it onto the varsity team at my school.

Now in college, running is one part of my life that helps keep me sane. Exercise is the best stress reliever I've found. Let me tell you that sprinting a couple 400s or 800s when you're mad at your chemistry TA is a great way to get out anger in a positive way, and calm some of that pent up energy.

If running's not your thing, I encourage everyone to get outdoors and hike or find some other activity that gets your body moving. Trust me, you won't regret it. (But please don't get injured-be safe out there :) )

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page