top of page

Sketchbook Reveal

The last two months I've been working on finishing my sketchbook for the Brooklyn Art Library's "The Sketchbook Project" where they're collecting sketchbooks from artists across the world! Each sketchbook ordered from the library comes with 16 pages (32 font/back) plus cover. The sketchbooks are mailed to the artists, filled out based off of one of the themes from that volume of sketchbook, and then returned where the book becomes part of a traveling library (bookmobile) of sketchbooks is also (optionally) digitized for more people to view.

The sketchbook I ordered was part of the Volume 16 series. The themes were: MONSTERS IN MOMENTS. ONE LAST CHANCE. REBIND THIS BOOK. A NARRATIVE ABOUT YOU. CATALOG YOUR FEELINGS. INVERT THIS BOOK. FEARFUL FACES. SHIPS IN THE NIGHT. NIGHTTIME FEELINGS. DELICATE DRAGONS. CAPTURE WITH CRAYONS. SEW MANY PROBLEMS. A SKY FULL OF DIAMONDS. IT'S A REVOLUTION. FLIGHTS AND FIGHTS. WAVING GOODBYE. LAMP POST LIMERICKS. ONE MORE STORY.

I chose ONE MORE STORY, but added a twist. I decided to also do a 30 day song challenge, where you get a prompt and pick a song to fit that theme. While listening to the song I chose for the 30 day challenge, I drew or painted whatever came to mind while listening to the music. Art and music have always been huge parts of my life, and I wanted to combine the two in a fun way. Of course mistakes were made and a lot of pieces were messier than intended, but overall it was a very fun project and I hope you enjoy peeking into my sketchbook.

This is what I created...

Click on the slideshow to run though images! Images will also be on the "Create" page of the blog. Hope you enjoyed!

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page