top of page

Half A Year Gone By

Wow. Half a year since March, when the world flipped upside down. I’m writing this in mid-September, which means it has been six months, half a year, since I was sent home from school and watched, stuck in my room, as the world was upended. My mental health has been a whirlwind of ups and downs, and I’m still constantly trying to focus on the positives and stay hopeful for the future. A new, different future that I’m slowly trying to accept as I’ve begun to realize that this new normal we’ve begun to live in will probably be with us for a while, even if a vaccine is (hopefully) produced and effectively distributed.

Now as September goes by, I’m back at school, though in a vastly different atmosphere from the one I left. Most classes are online and those still in person are reduced to smaller sizes, everyone is six feet apart and wearing masks, and many professors have decided to take their classrooms outside (a trend I strongly support as the western stays nice). Outside of school, even routine things like grocery shopping are different. Going out in the morning I make sure to leave the house not only with my phone, keys, and purse-but also a mask. On runs I cross to the other side of the street if I see someone coming my way.

These series of isolations and withdrawals from society have been rough. I have tried to maintain social connections through phone calls and video chats, social distanced picnics or outdoor activities, after months in isolation in the spring struggling to make it through the hardest semesters I’ve had to date. It’s been an uneasy path of self-reflection and discovery trying to figure out what is meaningful, how to find peace with slowing down and doing less, how to keep growing as a person, and how to deal with all of the challenges life throws at me.

When I realized that September marks the half-year mark, I decided to reach out via social media and asked a couple questions to my friends to see what their experiences have been throughout this process. Basically all the people who replied to my questions fall in a similar age group to me, form about 17-27. The responses are anonymous and I’ve tried to keep the formatting as close to the original submissions as possible. I wanted to share to give some perspective on what we all have collectively been going through.

What is something the pandemic has made you realize?

How much I value a good hug from a friend.

How quickly life can change.

The value of being alone sometimes.

How much we took for granted: school, travelling freely, or even just hand shades and hugs.

To people not in power going to bars and partying matters more than human life.

To people in power money matters more than human lives.

Humans are even more stubborn than I thought.

Having downtime is a wonderful thing. What I love and take for granted, by taking it away.

I knew the food system was a mess, but I never understood how badly until now.

Creating a good space is sooo important! I’m good at entertaining myself and I love being around people.

I reaffirmed my love for the outdoors and how I need to get outside to stay happy.

That living at home with parents is hard but it was [probably] also my last time living at home.

People are selfish [they] don’t care about public health (no masks/social distancing).

Community is invaluable. Be more grateful for your family.

I don’t have to be stuck in negative relationships that have hurt me before just because I care about the person.

What do you miss about pre-COVID times?

Being able to gather in groups for friend get-togethers, fine art performances, and hugging.

Spontaneity; a world without fear (a privilege that I never had in the first place). The lack of uncertainty in terms of what is going to happen in the future.

Not being worried when I’m in a store.

Hugs.

Being able to hang out with people.

Being able to hug people! Spontaneity. Being able to show up at someone’s house, just ‘cause I’m passing by.

Getting to pet all the dogs on the street and meeting their owners.

Hanging out with friends, hugs, [and] normal social interactions.

Live music, high fives, [and] smiles.

Being able to go places in groups.

Freedom of mobility and physical affection.

Not being afraid of meeting new people because I don’t want another person I have to distance from.

Being physically close to my friends.

Being physically close.

What are you hopeful for?

Hopeful for a vaccine and a post-COVID world that is more adaptable and generous.

How this will show people that collective action has impacts, hopefully in context of climate.

A vaccine.

Moving closer to my girl friend.

Seeing friends soon.

People being more mindful and appreciative in life after COVID.

People to start taking it a little mores seriously and respect when someone says no.

To keep up the compassion and thoughtfulness within communities.

A vaccine and that Trump will lose re-election.

That people comply with guidelines so COVID is managed.

I am hopeful that we are all learning and growing from this.

I’m hopeful to better love my friends amidst the struggle.

A new normal that is better than our usual normal.

I’m hopeful we’ll be able to stay in school and finish the cross country season!!

From these answers, a few trends stuck out to me. This may be generalizing, but just among this small survey it’s apparent that humans crave connection. Touch. (Hugs especially) Community. We crave freedom. We want to make the world a better place. We want to be better.

And that gives me hope.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page