top of page

A fancy~grilled cheese recipe

While I may be a lactose intolerant vegetarian there are a few things that I will scour the depths of my purse for a spare lactaid or deal with the stomach ache for. One of those things: ✨fancy✨ grilled cheese.

Now, I’m not sure if I can even fully claim this as a recipe post since grilled cheeses are one of the most basic things a person can make, but there are a few subtle changes you can make to turn the childhood classic into a gourmet balanced meal.


First step: secure your boogie bread. In this case I went with a local sourdough (unfortunately my starter died so I have not been making my own bread lately).


Second: choose your cheese. My go-to is normally the sharpest cheddar you can find but on this occasion I was craving some sort of Brie combination so I picked up a local vermont brand: the Willoughby cellars cave aged brie from Jasper Hill Farms. (Delicious)


Third: add a second layering element wether jam, sauce, mayo, avocado, etc. I went for Bonnie Marie’s blackberry preserves.


Fourth: add your protein—cheese can definitely be enough as is but I was craving something a little extra so fried up an egg with some simple oil garlic salt and pepper.


Fifth: add your fruits and veggies. You can make sooo many fun combos with adding some kale, peppers, apple, etc. With the brie and blackberry combo I wanted to add some apples but unfortunately was out so I just added some arugula instead.

Once you have all of your ingredients, assemble everything and butter the two facing out sides of bread. Lightly pan fry (grill) until crisp and delicious. Enjoy!

Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page