top of page

A shortage of spoons

You may have heard of the “Spoon Theory” in recent years, which was an idea created by Christine Miserandino, who is a multifaceted media creator and advocate for people dealing with chronic illnesses. The Spoon Theory describes the amount of mental and/or physical energy a person has available each day for different activities. This is mainly used as a metaphor for people dealing with chronic illness, as someone who’s living in constant pain may need two spoons worth of energy to go out and get groceries while someone else may only need one or none. Other activities like reading or having a nice meal can give back spoons. I think this theory can be translated for anyone who feels like they’re struggling with energy management.




Personally, I have felt very overwhelmed lately. When I listened to the podcast episode about the Spoon Theory on “Spiraling” by Katie and Serena, I definitely resonated with what they had to say. Over the years I have been trying to get better in touch with my energy cycles: the times when I’m high functioning, energized, constantly running around to the times when all I want to do is lay in bed, and everything in between. I’m also an extroverted introvert and I need so many social activities to feel good but I also need alone time to recharge and catch up internally. For example, some social interactions like a department meeting or something where I meet a lot of new people can take away my spoons. I feel like I need to put on a face or perform well to make a good first impression. It can be difficult when meeting new people to figure out where the other person is at and whether or not you‘d like to see them again. Other social events like getting coffee with a friend or walking around with a pal can add spoons, especially if we have a good conversation or really connect over something (hugs and laughter are great too).


Some activities are hit or miss with giving or taking up spoons. Cleaning, for example, can take away spoons physically as I get tired after but mentally adds spoons as cleaning is often a time when I can just put in a podcast or music and always feel better once my room is tidy or the dishes are put away.


Hiking and getting out into nature almost always give me spoons. Music, dance, petting my dog or my housemates cats. Actually getting enough sleep. Stretching. Coffee. Good food.


In college, I remember freshman year I was constantly flustered and exhausted from trying to go out, meet new people, make friends, stay on top of homework, etc. Sophomore year I was a bit more relaxed with a good friend base to start off with, though I still felt FOMO and burnout often. Then COVID hit and junior year was a blur with too many shortages of spoons. Senior year I’ve been a bit more relaxed (by my standards) and even though I’m still taking a lot of credits and working I’ve been pretty good about scheduling time with friends … and also trying to schedule relax/recharge time. This semester especially is odd because things are but also aren’t open with covid regulations fluctuating. It’s so nice to be able to see people again, but at the same time there is the overhead fear of the pandemic. I also feel like I missed out on so much my junior year that now during my last semester of college I’m trying to do everything that I can and I still feel like I’m not doing enough.


So my spoons are running a bit low right now.


I think the spoon theory can apply to anyone, but is especially true for those who may be struggling with physical or mental health and also introverts. Energy cycles are so interesting and I’m curious what other people classify different activities as giving or taking up spoons.

Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page