top of page

Backpacking Check List

I love spending time outside and exploring the wonders the natural world has to offer. One of my favorite ways to do this is by going backpacking for some extended trips into the woods. I’ve probably spent a good portion of my life camping (notably a 40+ day trip when I was in kindergarten up to Alaska to glamping for three months also in Alaska) but it’s only been the last few years that I’ve gotten into backpacking. You can go further and to more remote places by backpacking in with your gear, but depending on the length and type of your trip the amount of gear you needs varies a lot compared to car-camping or glamping (glamourous camping, often in an RV or trailer).

I’ve done mostly overnights (1-2 nights out 2-3 day) trips which require less gear and planning than extended trips where you have to worry more about food, water, and weight. For those interested in discovering more about backpacking, I’ve compiled a list of items I often take with me with seasonal variations.

Gear:

A good backpack: I have an Osprey Renn 45L and love it! I picked a smaller size since I’m able to attach things on the back using clips and this size can be used as a carry-on for plane travel. Larger sizes are also great for bigger trips, a few of my friends have 65L or versions with a detachable smaller pack which also works great.

Tent (Summer: Hammock + Cover) : I have an old north face 1 1/2 person tent with a RAIN COVER (highly recommend). Tents come in a lot of varieties so choose the size/weight that works best for you. In the winter I would recommend cabin/lodge camping over tenet and in the summer you may be able to get away with nothing or just a tarp depending on how warm the area is.

Sleeping Pad: Anything comfy, light, and rollable is great.

Sleeping Bag: again, lots of different versions based on your preferences. I have a 20 degree bag from Marmot that I love.

First Aid/Survival: Good things to have on hand are your basic first aid kit with bandages, iodine, neosporin, Advil, Claritin, scissors or tweezers, athletic tape, and so on. Also throw in some rope, a map of the area you’re hiking in, a portable phone charger, extra batteries, emergency granola bar, dry socks, and a flashlight or headlamp. If you’re in bear country, bring some bear spray.

Cooking/Food:

Stove/fire starter: These come in lots of varieties as well, popular versions being a jet boil, whisper light, or propanol-fueled pop up like the one I have. Backup matches are always a great thing to have on hand as well.

Dishes: A small pot or cup to boil water or food in, a multitool or something with a knife, plus an eating utensil.

Misc: Bringing a handkerchief or bandana is handy for many reasons!

WATER!! Please remember to bring at LEAST a liter of water, plus something to purify water with like Aquarmira or a LifeStraw. Try to bring 1.5 X amount of water you would normally drink during the time you’ll be in the woods if you have room, or at least enough to get to your next water source.

FOOD FOOD FOOD: you burn a lot of energy when hiking, espeically with a heavy pack and more so if the weather is cold. I always pack emergency granola bars along with good packable food like instant meals, hummus wraps, peanut butter banana tortillas, chocolate, trail mix/nuts, dried fruit, apples and bananas, oatmeal, and carrots.

Personal:

Clothes: Layers! CHECK THE WEATHER BEFORE YOU GO! Is it going to rain? Bring a raincoat and rainpants! Snow? Waterproof layers! Chilly? Pack an extra layer! You may warm up when hiking and only need 1-2 layers in the fall, but once you stop moving your body heat cools down drastically and if you’re in wet or sweaty clothes you could chill off to hypothermia levels if you’re not careful. In the spring/fall I normally have 2-3 bottom layers, 3-4 upper and ALWAYS bring an extra pair of socks. In the summer I can get by with shorts and a layer of pants for the evening plus a short-sleeve top and a jacket or extra layer for the night.

Shoes: Hiking boots! I‘m in love with my Scarpas, but anything that‘s comfortable to you (and preferably waterproof) is ideal. In the summer sometimes I’ll bring my Chacos to switch into for deeper water crossings or when I’m hanging out around camp. Some of my friends love Crocs, TEVAs, or Birkenstocks for their sandal of choice. In the winter, bring some yak-tracks or ice-grippers and snow shoes if the trail isn’t packed down.

Toiletries: Toothbrush/toothpaste, deodorant, hand soap/sanitizer, face/wet wipes, and emergency period products. For those with contacts, remember to bring saline solution and your glasses just in case.


That’s about it! It seems like a lot to pack into one bag, but you’d be surprised by how much you can stuff into a backpack. If you’re hiking with friends (which is recommended, especially if you’re in a new area or an inexperienced hiker) you can break up the gear so you’re carrying less weight. One person has the tent, another has the food, and so on. Happy camping!

Kommentare


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page