top of page

The grand voyage

After around 3200 ish miles from Vermont to Oregon, many days on the road and a grand total of 50+ hours of driving time I finally reached my destination and began work at my seasonal job with the forest service. Today (5/20) I am back in Vermont after ten + days camping in the wilderness of Idaho with my work cohorts training for our summer position. My thoughts have been all over the place lately and my body has been through four different time zones back and forth in the last few weeks so I apologize if this post isn’t very coherent.




Graduation is this weekend and I flew back to Burlington late last night to rejoin my friends to celebrate our completion of bachelors degrees at UVM.


Wow. What a whirlwind these last four years have been.


Chaos, stress, joy, heartbreak, friendships made, adventures had, many late nights and early mornings, learning so much more about the world and life than textbooks can teach. Words fail me when I try to encapsulate the multitude of experiences and emotions I’ve had here in Burlington and beyond.


I’m beyond grateful for my time in Vermont and will dearly miss the amazing people I’ve met here and places I’ve come to love.


I’m beyond excited for all the adventures and exploration this summer will bring out west and elated and nervous to being graduate school abroad this fall (as long as all my documents are in order oof visa applications are stressful).


It’s bittersweet.


Not a goodbye for ever, but a see-you-later. I’m not sure when I’ll be back in Vermont, if I’ll ever live here again, or even what the next few years are going to look like. Heck, I’m not even sure what the next few days, weeks, or months are going to entail.


I’ve been writing and posting on this blog consistently since 2018 and I’m proud of myself for sticking to nearly weekly to bi weekly posts for the last four years. Shout out to my relatives and friends who’ve been subscribed and commenting since I started and everyone else who’s taken time out of their day to read the little posts on this little platform in the sea of information and opinions on the grand inter web.


I’ve been contemplating it a lot but due to the lack of service I’ve had the last few weeks and expectation that most of the summer will be the same I’ve decided to take a break from the blog. I doubt it will be much missed and I’m certain I will continue writing and creating in other formats (though probably less publicly). This blog has always been a passion project of mine and I enjoy using it as a personal journal of sorts to flesh out ideas, try my hand at different activities, express thoughts and emotions, and use the archive as a time capsule of sorts. I’m unsure of whether or not I will continue to post in the future, but please check in every now and then as this is goodbye for now but may turn into a hello again later.


Thank you readers for sticking with me for all these years and if you just popped in please explore the archive of posts and then explore the world around you.


This blog was always meant to be a place of inspiration and exploration, and that is certainly what I still plan on doing wherever I am regardless of if it gets turned into something readable or not.


As always,


An Adventurous Aquarius


P.S. Some photos from the trip westward and the first week of training at work :)


Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page